The Australian Legal Philosophy Students’ Association (ALPSA) is the peak body for law students with an interest in the discussion of current issues in jurisprudence. The society was established towards the end of 2003, with 2004 as its first full year of activity. The organisation has its permanent home at the TC Beirne School of Law at the University of Queensland. ALPSA is also the official student branch of the Australian Society of Legal Philosophy.

Legal philosophy, a broad and critical perspective on the law, arguably attracts the best legal minds – minds that shape and direct national legal policy. By encouraging and rewarding the study of legal philosophy, both in law schools and in legal practice, ALPSA seeks to uphold the importance, relevance and power of legal philosophy. In doing so, we seek to foster creative and critical thinking, and a sense of social justice, in our members and the broader public. We hold panel discussions, an essay competition, and social events each year.

Our current Executive are:

  • President: Ewan Raeside
  • Secretary: Jacqueline Sung
  • Treasurer: Blake Johnson
  • Competitions Convenor: Katelyn Lamont
  • Marketing & Social Media Officer: Emily Olditch
  • Events Officer: Chloe Mo
  • Education Officer: Simon Lamb